Shut your mouth! It’s ArtCrawl!

Oil pastel on sketch paper with fingerprint shading; unsealed. (IS THAT HOW THESE WORK?! I HAVE NEVER CAPTIONED BEFORE.).
Oil pastel on sketch paper with fingerprint shading; unsealed. (IS THAT HOW THESE WORK?! I HAVE NEVER CAPTIONED BEFORE.).

Here it is. I made it back in December in ‘Creative Care’, a de-stress class my employer offers every so often.

It’s just what I felt like doing. Most everyone in the session with me really enjoyed this piece. One of them said I could probably sell it.

I was just like…it’s just squares and rectangles that use all of colors in the pastel box, and none of the colors are used twice or intersect themselves.

But of course, I just said, ‘thanks!’, mentioned Mondrian as my inspiration, and complimented theirs in turn.

I usually draw or create abstract or ‘modern’ art because I can’t accurately mimic actual things. My stick people don’t even look like sticks. I’ve never taken an art class or lesson, but thanks to growing up without cable, I watched a lot of Bob Ross reruns on PBS. I’ve never tried to follow a lesson of his, but I will one of these days and post the results here.

In the meantime, since painting the above work, I’ve gone to Jerry’s Artarama up the road and stocked up on basic watercolors and pastels. I also scored some pretty sweet ‘how-to’ books at a secondhand store, so we’ll see what develops.

I’m really trying to not judge myself so harshly. In the words of a coworker, after I’d pointed out another piece that was mine, ‘Liz, you’re not afraid to display your fifth-grade art along with everyone else’s. I love it!’

I guess, even though it’s not always as good as I think it will be, it’s never as bad as I think everyone else will think it will be.

That’s what I’ll use as my mantra for the next week. We’ll see how it goes!

Liz

Post title reference, for the uninitiated.

Leave a comment